Audio Physic :: no loss of fine detail
Step plus with Sherpa

 

Excellent sound is not a question of size, but certainly one of stature. And the STEP loudspeakers have exhibited stature since AUDIO PHYSIC was founded. Over the course of three decades, we have tirelessly continued to further develop the model. The strong reception of these loudspeakers among music aficionados, not to mention numerous national and international awards, underscore the high class of these units. Now with STEP plus, the most mature STEP model of all time is entering the stage, and the STEP plus gives the term compact loudspeaker a whole new dimension.

Veneers

Cherry

Walnut

White
high
gloss

Black
high
gloss

Audio Physic veneers at a glance

 

Technical data

Height 320 mm / 12.6"
Width 175 mm / 6.9"
Depth 250 mm / 9.8"
Required Space
Width x Depth
175x300 mm / 6.9x11.8"
Weight 5.5 kg
Recommended amplifier power   10-120 W
Impedance 8 Ohm
Frequency range 50 Hz - 40 kHz
Sensitivity 87 dB
More technical details

 

Features and Specs

 

 

Our listening tip

Donna Lewis | Now in a Minute | WARNER-MUSIC

Donna Lewis | Now in a Minute | WARNER-MUSIC

In 1996, Donna Lewis belted out “I love You Always Forever”, catapulting into the charts and reaching the ears of fans. Yet the artist unjustly bears the stigma of a one-hit wonder. The fact that this singer from Wales offers more than just light entertainment is evidenced by her album “Now in a Minute”. Chock-full of soulful ballads and her engaging, multi-faceted singing style, the disc can be played from start to finish. For audiophile criticasters, “Silent World” offers a bare-knuckled benchmark to ferret out any cabinet resonance. After exactly 28 seconds, Lewis comes in on cue, singing “and keep You”. Over many loudspeakers, the word “and” exactly at this point sounds more like “hng”, practically as if the Weather Girls do their best, but they are trying to sing while eating a club sandwich, instead of the tall and slender Lewis stature. The STEP plus loudspeakers do without the cotton balls and softeners when the acoustic space is opened up by the voice of the artist. They articulate perfectly, without any cabinet sounds.

 

Jonny Lang | Long Time Coming | UNIVERSAL

Jonny Lang | Long Time Coming | UNIVERSAL

Who says the Blues belong to a bygone age? What the young talent, Jonny Lang, delivers in this album, deserves respect. He shows great feeling in “Dying to Live”, only to crank up the groove in “If We Try”; Lang’s gentle, husky voice lends each song its own note, instilling strength and a special sustained quality. This is an album you’ll be playing more than once.

In terms of sound technology on a high level, especially the “dry” pieces demand precision of a loudspeaker. Lang’s voice, however, is the actual benchmark, it tends to sound bright, slightly throaty. Loudspeakers that render his singing compressed or even polished and sparkling abandon the path of virtue.

 

Step plus

 

Special features

- new HHCT III tweeter
- modified cross over
- modified inner cabinet with
  open cell ceramic foam bracing elements

 

Veneers

Technical data

Features and Specs

Our listening tip

 

Not all rooms offer sufficient space for positioning standing loudspeakers. Close to the wall or even pushed off into the corner, most of the time they play far below their sound capabilities. On the other hand, large loudspeakers in small rooms are not always to be recommended, because at low frequencies – more than compact loudspeakers – they tend to produce room modes and thus highly disturbing resonance which can be audible as droning effects. What's more, there are many music lovers who have a purist approach, and they appreciate compact loudspeakers not only because they take up a smaller footprint.

In terms of styling, the STEP plus is true to the tradition of its predecessors, but we re-engineered it from the inside out with the same passion that we dedicate to the AUDIO PHYSIC top models. The STEP plus benefit from technological insights that we gathered during the development of the top model, CARDEAS 30 LJE. Thus, they also feature the exclusive HHC-III tweeters, the fidelity of which extend far beyond the audible range. Best prerequisites for excellent pulse fidelity.

The suspension system and the chassis basket are mechanically decoupled from one another in a radical design involving the hyper-holographic cone chassis. Resonance detrimental to sound due to micro-vibrations is thus combated where it originates and effectively reduced. The forward-looking HHC-M chassis also makes a difference on the low medium tones. The result is a dramatic gain in precision and attention to detail. The most intricate flutters in a vibrato or the gentle shimmer of a fading harp string are real challenges for any loudspeaker. The STEP plus peel away the most intricate details from the musical thicket like child’s play, without sounding technically artificial. They reproduce complex music material in a calm, collected and uncompromising manner – acoustic magnifying glasses in a true sense.

The special cabinet shape lends the STEP plus not only a modern, timeless appearance, it also reduces standing waves in the interior of the loudspeakers. Standing waves jeopardise crisp midrange reproduction in particular. Moreover, ceramic foam reduces resonance in the interior of the STEP plus. The extremely stiff and open-pore material figuratively takes on the function of a labyrinth. The acoustic noise inevitably emitted from the chassis into the cabinet interior essentially gets lost in the pores, thereby undergoing a massive reduction in power, and can no longer affect the sound. Traditional insulation materials do not even come close to achieving this effect.

The slight rear tilt of the cabinet body balances out phase differences between the mid and high range. Low mid-range drivers and tweeters are placed flush with the front panel. Deformation effects that can lead to a nervous sound don’t have a chance.

An additional essential contribution to natural sound is provided by the re-engineered crossover with its painstakingly selected components. The interior wiring, as well as the high-quality WBT™ control terminal, mechanically decoupled from the cabinet, are also part of the tonal coordination. The sum of all these details leads to a stunning attention to detail and homogeneity that will thrill the discerning audiophile. Not least thanks to their tonal balance and impressive dynamic capabilities, the STEP plus also make a fine seamless addition as rear speakers in an AUDIO PHYSIC surround system.

On the elegant loudspeaker feet from our line of accessories, the STEP plus will have ideal operating conditions. The feet guarantee optimal height and a sturdy stance.

To arrange a no-obligation listening session at your competent AUDIO PHYSIC partner, simply click here.

 

 

info@audiophysic.de

Almerfeldweg 38

59929 Brilon

+49 2961-96170

  Sitemap

Imprint

Audio Physic :: no loss of fine detail
Sherpa

 

Exzellenter Klang ist keine Frage der Größe, gewiss aber eine des Formats. Und Format beweisen die STEP seit der Firmengründung von AUDIO PHYSIC. Im Lauf dreier Jahrzehnte entwickelten wir das Modell unermüdlich weiter. Der starke Anklang der Lautsprecher unter Musikfreunden wie zahlreiche nationale und internationale Auszeichnungen bestätigen die hohe Klasse dieser Wandler. Mit den STEP plus betreten nun die ausgereiftesten STEP aller Zeiten die Bühne, die STEP plus verleihen dem Begriff Kompaktlautsprecher eine neue Dimension.

 

Oberflächen

Kirsche

Walnuss

Weiss
hoch-
glanz

Schwarz
hoch-
glanz

Audio Physic Furniere im Überblick

 

Technische Daten

Höhe 320 mm / 12.6"
Breite 175 mm / 6.9"
Tiefe 250 mm / 9.8"
Grundfläche Breite x Tiefe 175x300 mm / 6.9x11.8"
Gewicht 5.5 kg
Empfohlene Verstärkerleistung 10-120 W
Impedanz 8 Ohm
Frequenzgang 55 Hz - 33 kHz
Wirkungsgrad 87 dB
Weitere technische Daten

 

Ausstattungsmerkmale

 

 

Unser Anspieltipp

Donna Lewis | Now in a Minute | WARNER-MUSIC

Donna Lewis | Now in a Minute | WARNER-MUSIC

Mit „I love You always forever“ trällerte sich Donna Lewis 1996 in Hitparaden und Gehörgänge. Doch trägt die Künstlerin zu Unrecht das Stigma des One-Hit-Wonders. Dass sie mehr als seichte Unterhaltung bietet, zeigt die Waliserin auf ihrem Album „Now in a Minute“. Gespickt mit gefühlvollen Balladen und ihrem eingehenden, facettenreichen Gesang lässt sich die Scheibe quasi komplett durchhören. Für audiophile Kritikaster bietet sich „Silent World“ an, ein knallharter Prüfstein, um Gehäuseresonanzen auf die Schliche zu kommen. Exakt nach 28 Sekunden setzt Frau Lewis an und singt „and keep You“. Über viele Lautsprecher tönt das „and“ an exakt dieser Stelle mehr wie ein „hng“, gerade so als würden es die Weather Girls zum Besten geben, allerdings mit einem mehrschichtigem Sandwich in den Kehlen, statt nach der schlanken, hoch gewachsenen Lewis-Statur. Die STEP plus füllen ihren Gesang weder mit Watte noch Weichmacher auf. Sie artikulieren perfekt, bar jedes Gehäusesounds.

 

Jonny Lang | Long Time Coming | UNIVERSAL

Jonny Lang | Long Time Coming | UNIVERSAL

Da sage einer, der Blues gehöre früheren Zeiten an. Was das Jung-Talent Jonny Lang in diesem Album liefert, verdient Respekt. Mal gefühlvoll in „Dying to Live“, mal voller Groove wie in „If we try“, Langs sanft rauchige Stimme gibt jedem Song eine eigene Note, verleiht ihm Kraft und eine besondere Nachhaltigkeit. Dieses Album werden Sie mehr als einmal hören.

Klangtechnisch auf hohem Niveau fordern insbesondere die „trockener“ abgestimmten Stücke Lautsprecher in Sachen Präzision. Langs Stimme jedoch ist der eigentliche Prüfstein, sie kling tendenziell hell, leicht kehlig. Speaker, die seinen Gesang gepresst oder gar poliert, glänzend reproduzieren, verlassen den Pfad der Tugend.

 

Step plus

 

Besondere Merkmale

- neuer HHCT III Hochtöner
- modifizierte Weichen
- überarbeitetes Innengehäuse
  mit offenporigen Keramikschaum-Elementen

 

Oberflächen

Technische Daten

Ausstattungsmerkmale

Anspieltipp

 

Nicht immer verfügen Räume über ausreichend Platz, um Standlautsprecher zu platzieren. Dicht an die Wand oder sogar in eine Ecke gedrängt, spielen diese ohnehin meist weit unter ihren klanglichen Möglichkeiten. Auf der anderen Seite sind große Boxen in kleinen Räumen nicht immer empfehlenswert, da sie zu tiefen Frequenzen – eher als Kompaktlautsprecher – Raummoden und damit äußerst störende Resonanzen, die sich als Dröhneffekte bemerkbar machen können, anregen. Zudem gibt es viele Musikfreunde mit einem puristischen Ansatz, sie schätzen Kompaktlautsprecher nicht nur wegen ihres geringen Platzbedarfs.

Im Styling bleiben die STEP plus der Linie der Vorgänger treu, ihre Inneren Werte haben wir dagegen mit derselben Leidenschaft überarbeitet, die wir auch den AUDIO PHYSIC Spitzenmodellen angedeihen lassen. Die STEP plus profitieren technologisch von den Erkenntnissen, die wir bei der Entwicklung des Top-Modells CARDEAS 30 LJE gesammelt haben. So besitzen sie ebenfalls den exklusiven HHC-III Hochtöner, dessen Wiedergabe bis weit über die Hörgrenze hinaus reicht. Beste Voraussetzungen für eine exzellente Impulstreue.

Schwingsystem und Chassiskorb werden in den Hyper-Holographic-Cone-Chassis auf radikale Weise mechanisch voneinander entkoppelt. Klangschädliche Resonanzen durch Mikrovibrationen werden so im Ansatz bekämpft und effektiv reduziert. Auch im Tiefmittelton kommt das richtungsweisende HHC-M-Chassis zum Einsatz. Das Ergebnis ist ein dramatischer Zugewinn an Präzision und Detailfreude. Feinste Schwebungen in einem Vibrato oder das sanfte Flirren einer ausklingenden Harfensaite sind echte Herausforderungen für jeden Lautsprecher. Die STEP plus schälen spielend kleinste Details aus musikalischem Dickicht ohne technisch kühl klingen. Sie reproduzieren komplexes Musikmaterial aufgeräumt und unkomprimiert – akustische Lupen im besten Sinn.

Die spezielle Gehäuseform verleiht den STEP plus nicht nur ein modern zeitloses Gesicht, sie vermindert auch Stehwellen im Inneren der Lautsprecher. Solche gefährden insbesondere eine saubere Mittenwiedergabe. Zudem reduziert Keramikschaum im Inneren der STEP plus schädliche Resonanzen. Das extrem steife und offenporige Material übernimmt bildlich gesprochen die Funktion eines Irrgartens. Der von den Chassis zwangsläufig ins Gehäuseinnere abgestrahlte Schall verirrt sich quasi in den Poren, verliert dabei massiv an Kraft und kann die Wiedergabe nicht mehr beeinflussen. Herkömmliche Dämmmaterialien erzielen nicht annähernd diese Wirkung.

Die leichte Neigung des Korpus nach hinten gleicht Phasendifferenzen zwischen Mitten und Höhen aus. Tiefmittel- und Hochtöner schließen bündig mit der Boxenfront ab. Beugungseffekte, die zu einem nervösen Klang führen können, entstehen so erst gar nicht.

Einen weiteren wesentlichen Beitrag zur natürlichen Wiedergabe leistet die überarbeitete Frequenzweiche mit ihren penibel selektierten Bauteilen. Auch die Innenverkabelung wie das hochwertige, mechanisch vom Gehäuse entkoppelte WBT™-Anschlussterminal sind Teil der tonalen Abstimmung. Die Summe all dieser Details führt zu einer frappierenden Detailfreude und Homogenität, die anspruchsvolle Audiophile begeistern wird. Nicht zuletzt dank ihrer tonalen Ausgewogenheit und den beeindruckenden dynamischen Fähigkeiten fügen sich die STEP plus auch als Rear-Speaker nahtlos in ein AUDIO PHYSIC-Surroundsystem ein.

Auf den eleganten Lautsprecherfüßen aus unserem Zubehörprogramm finden die STEP plus ideale Betriebsbedingungen vor. Die Füße bürgen für optimale Höhe und sicheren Stand.

Zum unverbindlichen Probehören beim kompetenten AUDIO PHYSIC-Partner klicken Sie einfach hier.

 

 

info@audiophysic.de

Almerfeldweg 38

59929 Brilon

+49 2961-96170

  Sitemap

Impressum