Audio Physic :: no loss of fine detail
Hyper Holographic Cone Midrange III (HHCM III)

 

Real progress is achieved by having the courage to question long-standing conventions and to blaze new trails. In the history of AUDIO PHYSIC, it has always been of the highest priority to reproduce music as naturally and as loss-free as possible.

It is the body of natural musical instruments that lends music its typical tone color and volume. The body is an integral part of the oscillatory system.

Oscillation is precisely what you don't want in loudspeakers. Unlike natural instruments, a loudspeaker cabinet is not part of the oscillatory system. If the cabinet or any part thereof, excited by the music reproduction, starts to oscillate, additional vibrations are added on top of the signal which are not contained in the original. The result is discolorations.

From the beginning, AUDIO PHYSIC has always engineered loudspeaker cabinets to ensure the least amount of intrinsic vibrations possible. This was how the special shape of many AUDIO PHYSIC loudspeakers developed, not to mention the intelligent sandwich design of several speaker models.

Even more effective, however, is to already stop a transference of vibration at the place where the sound originates, i.e. on the chassis. It is not an easy task, after all, the chassis need to be firmly connected to the cabinet. Normally they are bolted onto the cabinet.

Conventional chassis have a basket that bears all the moving parts as well as the driver magnets. The moving parts include the voice coil, the coil carrier, the spider, the diaphragm and the surround. During sound reproduction, they transfer vibrations via the surround and the spider to the basket and thus to the loudspeaker cabinet. These vibrations can distort the original signal. Because if the cabinet vibrates, even ever so slightly, it creates its own membrane of sorts, having a large surface area. Add to this the fact that the chassis move with the vibrating cabinet, after all they are firmly attached to one another – a sphere of influence that can have severe detrimental effects on the sound, in particular on attention to detail and neutrality.

So AUDIO PHYSIC looked for ways to combat rogue vibrations at the source and developed a radically new basket design for mid-range drivers and tweeters. The HYPER HOLOGRAPHIC CONE technology from AUDIO PHYSIC cuts the Gordian knot and reduces the transference of vibration from the chassis to the cabinet – and vice versa – with dramatic effects; effects that are both measurable and audible.

The Hyper-Holographic Cone Midrange Driver

The HYPER HOLOGRAPHIC CONE midrange driver HHCM III has a forward-looking architecture. Instead of "one" basket, the chassis consists of an inner and outer basket. The inner basket is made out of a modern functional material. A remarkable feature of the special polymer is its superb inner dampening. Micro-vibrations are already reduced in the material itself. The basket bears all moving parts and is firmly enclosed by a basket made of die-cast aluminium. This guarantees the mechanical stability. The contact surface between both baskets is reduced, however, to a narrow ring-shaped area – thus decreasing the surface through which vibrations can propagate.

Here is a decisive advantage of the intelligent hybrid architecture: The inner basket is only indirectly connected to the cabinet, in the loudspeaker front panel, it is merely held into place. Any transfer of vibration to the cabinet or from the cabinet back onto the membrane is reduced to the lowest possible level.

The dual-basket design offers other advantages as well: Its open architecture with a firmly positioned phase plug increases the thermal load capacity, effectively shutting down compression influences. The aluminium membrane of the HHCM III with Active Cone Damping III is significantly more resistant to partial vibrations than traditional membranes. Its membrane is pre-tensioned on the cone edge via a U-formed elastic ring. This effectively eliminates partial vibrations and natural resonance of the membrane; the so-called ringing effect often associated with metal membranes is unknown to the HHCM III.

Thanks to the vast array of special technical features, the HHCM III can easily handle extreme dynamic leaps and high volumes. The result is an incredibly open and neutral reproduction that sets new standards.

 

See also: The Hyper-Holographic Cone Tweeter

 

info@audiophysic.de

Almerfeldweg 38

59929 Brilon

+49 2961-96170

  Sitemap

Imprint

Audio Physic :: no loss of fine detail
Hyper Holographic Cone Midrange III (HHCM III)

 

Echter Fortschritt entsteht durch den Mut Bewährtes infrage zu stellen und neue Wege zu gehen. In der Historie von AUDIO PHYSIC war es stets ein besonderes Anliegen, Musik so natürlich und verlustfrei wie möglich zu reproduzieren.

Natürlichen Musikinstrumenten verleiht ihr Korpus die typische Klangfarbe und das Volumen. Der Körper ist integraler Bestandteil des Schwingsystems.

Für Lautsprecher sollte genau das nicht gelten. Das Lautsprechergehäuse ist im Unterschied zu natürlichen Instrumenten nicht Teil des Schwingsystems. Vibriert der Korpus oder ein Teil davon, angeregt durch die Musikwiedergabe, addieren sich zum Signal weitere Schwingungen, die im Original nicht enthalten sind. Die Folge sind Verfärbungen.

Seit je her konstruiert AUDIO PHYSIC Lautsprechergehäuse so, dass diese möglichst geringe Eigenschwingungen aufweisen. So entstanden die besondere Form vieler AUDIO PHYSIC Lautsprecher wie auch die intelligente Sandwich-Konstruktion einiger Speaker.

Noch effektiver aber ist es eine Vibrationsübertragung bereits am Ort der Schallentstehung, also an den Chassis, zu unterbinden. Kein einfaches Unterfangen, müssen die Chassis doch fest mit dem Gehäuse verbunden sein. In der Regel sind sie mit dem Korpus verschraubt.

Konventionelle Chassis besitzen einen Korb, der alle bewegten Teile sowie den Antriebsmagneten trägt. Die bewegten Teile sind die Schwingspule, der Spulenträger, die Zentrierung, die Membran und die umschließende Sicke. Sie übertragen während der Wiedergabe über die Sicke und die Zentrierung Vibrationen auf den Korb und damit auf das Lautsprechergehäuse. Diese können das Originalsignal verfälschen. Denn vibriert der Korpus, wenn auch nur minimal, bildet er selbst eine Art Membran mit riesiger Oberfläche. Hinzu kommt, dass die Chassis sich mit dem vibrierenden Gehäuses bewegen, sie sind ja fest damit verbunden – ein Wirkkreis, der den Klang, insbesondere Detailtreue und Neutralität, stark beeinträchtigen kann.

So suchte AUDIO PHYSIC Wege, vagabundierende Vibrationen an der Wurzel zu bekämpfen und entwickelte eine radikal neue Korbkonstruktion für Mittel- und Hochtöner. Die HYPER HOLOGRAPHIC CONE-Technologie von AUDIO PHYSIC zerschlägt den Gordischen Knoten und reduziert die Vibrationsübertragung vom Chassis auf das Gehäuse – wie umgekehrt – drastisch; messtechnisch wie hörbar.

Der Hyper-Holographic-Cone-Mitteltöner

Die HYPER HOLOGRAPHIC CONE-Mitteltöner HHCM-III besitzt eine wegweisende Architektur. Statt „eines“ Korbes besteht das Chassis aus einem inneren und einem äußeren Korb. Der innere Korb wird aus einem modernen Funktionswerkstoff hergestellt. Besonderes Merkmal des Spezialkunststoffs ist eine hervorragende innere Dämpfung. Mikrovibrationen werden bereits im Material selbst reduziert. Der Korb trägt alle bewegten Teile und wird von einem äußeren Korb aus Aluminiumdruckguss fest umklammert. Dieser garantiert die mechanische Stabilität. Die Kontaktfläche zwischen beiden Körben reduziert sich jedoch auf einen schmalen ringförmigen Bereich – damit verringert sich die Fläche, über die sich Vibrationen ausbreiten können.

Gravierender Vorteil der intelligenten Hybrid-Architektur: Der innere Korb ist mit dem Gehäuse nur indirekt verbunden, in der Lautsprecherfront ist er lediglich fixiert. Eine Vibrationsübertragung auf das Gehäuse oder vom Gehäuse zurück auf die Membran wird auf ein denkbares Minimum reduziert.

Die Doppelkorbkonstruktion bringt weitere Vorteile: Ihre offene Architektur mit fest stehendem Phase-Plug steigert die thermische Belastbarkeit, Kompressionseffekte werden effektiv unterbunden. Die Aluminiummembran des HHCM-III mit Active Cone Damping ist gegen Partialschwingungen deutlich resistenter als herkömmliche Membranen. Dank der vielfältigen technischen Besonderheiten meistert der HHCM-III problemlos extreme Dynamiksprünge und hohe Pegel. Das Ergebnis ist eine ungemein offene und neutrale Wiedergabe, die Maßstäbe setzt.

 

Zur Seite: Der Hyper Holographic Cone-Hochtöner

 

 

info@audiophysic.de

Almerfeldweg 38

59929 Brilon

+49 2961-96170

  Sitemap

Impressum