Audio Physic :: no loss of fine detail
Classic 20

The stakes were very high indeed for the current design facelift of the CLASSIC 20, the medium-range loudspeaker in our CLASSIC line, if like the larger CLASSIC 30, an integrated bass module was to be designed that would eliminate the need for side grilles. Effective immediately, the CLASSIC 10, CLASSIC 20 and CLASSIC 30 thus feature the same design with sleek contours. There are differences only in the cabinet depth and naturally the chassis mounting. In order to achieve this goal, AUDIO PHYSIC once again blazed new and unconventional trails.

 

Classic 20

Finishes

Veneers

Glass Finishes

Black
ash

Cherry

Walnut

White high gl. 9003 Black high gl. 9017
All Finishes at a glance

 

Special Glass Finishes

White Alu 9006

Grey Brown 1250

Mara-nello Red 3001

Purple Red 3004

All Finishes at a glance

 

Technical data

Height 1055 mm / 41.5"
Width 170 mm / 6.7"
Depth 290 mm / 11.4"
Required Space Width x Depth 210x350 mm / 8.3x13.8"
Weight ~ 18 kg / 22 kg
Recommended amplifier power   25-150 W
Impedance 4 Ohm
Frequency range 34 Hz - 30 kHz
Sensitivity 89 dB
More technical details

Classic 20 transparent

Listening tip

Berlin Gala, Salute to Carmen | Claudio Abbado| DG/Esoteric

Berlin Gala, Salute to Carmen | Claudio Abbado| DG/Esoteric

The New Year's Eve Concert 1997 with the Berlin Philharmonic under the direction of Claudio Abbado is in every respect truly a celebration and, in this painstakingly remastered hybrid SACD, becomes an experience to behold. Artists such as Anne-Sofie von Otter, Roberto Alagna or Gil Shaham guarantee Classical enjoyment at its finest.

Thanks to the unique cabinet design of the CLASSIC 20, the natural quality and iconic precision of the recording come through crystal clear. This is where not only strength meets finesse, but the incomparable symphony of tone colours, coupled with highly-profound basses, powerful dynamics and gripping verve, unleashes a fireworks of passion.

 

Ambient Screen

Enjoy your preferred AUDIO PHYSIC Speaker on your screen. For picture download select the size tab.

1280 x 1024 SXGA 5:4
1600 x 1200 UXGA 4:3
1920 x 1200 WUXGA 16:10

CLASSIC 20

Finishes

Technical data

Features and Specs

Reviews

Listening tipp

Ambient Screen

 

The loudspeaker cabinet has a decisive influence on the sound of a loudspeaker. The larger an enclosure is, the greater the effort required to eliminate the acoustic characteristics of the cabinet and thus prevent tonal discolouration. In all the large AUDIO PHYSIC models, intelligently modelled loudspeaker cabinets guarantee the utmost in neutrality. In order to attain a comparable degree of signal fidelity, the cabinets on the CLASSIC models are designed as a sandwich construction made of several materials. The inner layer, 12 millimetres thick, consists of MDF (medium-density fibreboard); a proven material, solid, yet also possessing excellent dampening properties. Depending upon the design chosen, the CLASSIC 20 outer MDF panels are finished in fine wood veneers. The special feature in this case is a two-millimetre middle layer between two layers made of closed-cell high-tech acrylate resins. This design, similar to double glazing, helps to lend the walls of the CLASSIC 20 unusually low sound permeability – and thus interrupts the direct transmission of noise emitted in the cabinet interior through the panels of the loudspeaker to the outside. Little attention has been paid to this phenomenon, referred to as sound penetration, up to now, but in fact this effect may have a strong influence on the original signal. The joints created by the sandwich are a design element of the loudspeakers. The softer core works as a buffer zone, influencing adjacent materials that are more prone to resonance, transforming any partial vibrations immediately into thermal radiation. This type of design developed by AUDIO PHYSIC combines the optimal properties of all the materials used.

As an alternative, we offer the CLASSIC 20 as high-gloss versions in black and white. Instead of MDF, the high-gloss versions have exterior panels made of glass. Here as well, the use of an extremely effective adhesive eliminates any possibility of the glass surfaces developing their own acoustics – the dreaded "ringing effect" associated with glass is nipped in the bud. Likewise, all the advantages of using glass as a material, such as its incredible stiffness, are fully retained. Due to the new cabinet technology, the sound performance of the CLASSIC models come very close to the virtues of the HIGH-END line and they simply set a new standard in their price segment.

The new AUDIO PHYSIC method of designing cabinets is cutting edge. This results in ideal working conditions for the also newly developed chassis of the CLASSIC 20. The stunning design feature of the re-designed CLASSIC 20: the woofer is no longer placed on the sides of the loudspeaker, but rather – like its big sister, CLASSIC 30 – in its own compartment inside the cabinet. This offers visual and technical advantages: On the one hand, the side panels of the CLASSIC 20 now create a visually homogeneous unity whose contours are not interrupted. On the other hand, using an intelligent bass configuration with the woofer being mounted in its own compartment further reduces the impact of vibrations on the surrounding body. Combined with the bass reflex system integrated in the cabinet concept, this enables an incredibly precise and stunning low-tone fidelity with a powerful punch. A look at the transparent illustrations of the CLASSIC 20 and the bass module reveals the sophisticated configuration of the woofer near the base and the elaborate struts inside the cabinet that hardly diminish the inner volume, however. The listener is rewarded with not only highly-profound, accurate basses, but also with remarkably high definition and clarity in the mid-ranges and trebles.

These precise qualities are also brought out by the newly-developed mid-ranges and tweeters; veritable high-performance drivers. Their architecture has been trimmed for maximum signal fidelity. The new midrange driver boasts narrow cone mounts, a fixed phase plug, an oversized drive and a fibre reinforced paper membrane. The perfect interaction of all components provides for neutrality and stability in the so vital mid-ranges that is uncommon for this class. The modern tweeter, with its fabric cap, reproduces frequencies ranging far above 20 kilohertz linear. It is surrounded by a radial felt mat shaped like a star, which facilitates uniform sound dispersion. Details that make a difference and underscore the extraordinary quality of an AUDIO PHYSIC loudspeaker.

The logical consequence of this loudspeaker trimmed to low resonance and thus to neutrality is that, just as in the HIGH-END and REFERENCE line, we are now consistently using the expensive, technologically advanced WBT nextgen™ terminals as standard even in our "smallest" line. It is only logical and consistent, as these connectors, through their clever conductivity, eliminate ground storage effects and also noticeably minimise micro vibrations.

With the CLASSIC 20, we achieve unprecedented original fidelity in this class that will surprise you. Typical cabinet sound, which at first flush can appear cosily and pleasingly warm, is alien to these models. The CLASSIC 20 loudspeakers reproduce the signals provided by the electronics and software – in this, they are closer to models in the HIGH-END line than ever before.

 

Classic 20 Chassis

Features and Specs

 

Reviews

Prime AV – Best Recommended

Classic 20 :: Prime AV :: 06/2014
taiwanese review PDF 1,1 MB

 

Classic :: Super AV :: 06/2014
chinese review PDF 400 KB

 

Classic 20 :: HI-FI.ru :: 09/2013
russian review PDF 4.6 MB

 

Classic 30 :: HiFi Muzyka :: 11/2013

Classic 20 :: HiFi Muzyka :: 01/2013
polish review PDF 1.5 MB

 

An Element of Surprise

Audio Physic has pulled out all the stops by surprising us with its new Classic 10 and Classic 20 floorstanding loudspeakers. One highlight of these two models is the fact that they are both available with a pure glass surface but their real outstanding factor is their impressive sound, not to mention their price.

german and english review PDF 3,5 MB

Specialities from the Sauerland region

Does a good loudspeaker really always have to be as ugly as they come or at least difficult to integrate into a living atmosphere in line with the current standards of interior design?

german and english review PDF 5,1 MB

info@audiophysic.de

Almerfeldweg 38

59929 Brilon

+49 2961-96170

  Sitemap

Imprint

Audio Physic :: no loss of fine detail
Yara II Superior

Für die aktuelle Überarbeitung der CLASSIC 20, des mittleren Lautsprechers unserer CLASSIC-Line, lag die Messlatte besonders hoch, galt es doch, analog zur größeren CLASSIC 30 ein integriertes Bassmodul zu konzipieren und damit seitliche Grills überflüssig zu machen. CLASSIC 10, CLASSIC 20 und CLASSIC 30 zeigen damit ab sofort das gleiche Design mit der schnörkellosen Linienführung. Unterschiedlich sind nur die Gehäusetiefe und natürlich die Chassisbestückung. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, ging AUDIO PHYSIC einmal mehr neue und unkonventionelle Wege.

 

Classic 20

Oberflächen

Furniere

Glasoberflächen

Esche
schwarz

Kirsche

Walnuss

Weiß hochgl. 9003 Schwarz hochgl. 9017
Alle Oberflächen im Überblick

 

Spezialfarben als Glasoberflächen

Weiß Alu 9006 Grau Braun 1250 Mara-
nello Rot 3001
Purpur Rot 3004
Alle Oberflächen im Überblick

 

Technische Daten

Höhe 1055 mm / 41.5"
Breite 170 mm / 6.7"
Tiefe 290 mm / 11.4"
Grundfläche Breite x Tiefe 210x350 mm / 8.3x13.8"
Gewicht ~ 18 kg / 22 kg
Empfohlene Verstärkerleistung 25-150 W
Impedanz 4 Ohm
Frequenzgang 34 Hz - 30 kHz
Wirkungsgrad 89 dB
Weitere technische Daten

Classic 20 transparent

Unser Anspieltipp

Berlin Gala, Salute to Carmen | Claudio Abbado| DG/Esoteric

Berlin Gala, Salute to Carmen | Claudio Abbado| DG/Esoteric

Das Sylvesterkonzert 1997 mit den Berliner Philharmonikern unter der Ägide von Claudio Abbado ist wahrlich in jeder Beziehung ein Fest und wird in dieser aufs penibelste nachgearbeiteten Hybrid-SACD zu einem Erlebnis. Künstler wie Anne-Sofie von Otter, Roberto Alagna oder Gil Shaham bürgen für Klassik-Genuss höchster Güte.

Dank der einzigartigen Gehäusekonstruktion der CLASSIC 20 kommen die Natürlichkeit und die famose Präzision der Einspielung ungetrübt zur Geltung. Hier treffen nicht nur Kraft und Finesse aufeinander, viel mehr entfacht das unnachahmliche Spiel der Klangfarben, gepaart mit abgrundtiefen Bässen, gewaltiger Dynamik und packendem Verve ein Feuerwerk der Leidenschaft.

 

Bildschirmhintergrund

Laden Sie das Aufmacherbild Ihres AUDIO PHYSIC Lieblingslautsprechers auf Ihren Rechner. Klicken Sie dazu einfach die gewünschte Größe an.

1280 x 1024 SXGA 5:4
1600 x 1200 UXGA 4:3
1920 x 1200 WUXGA 16:10

CLASSIC 20

Oberflächen

Technische Daten

Ausstattungsmerkmale

Anspieltipp

Testberichte

Bildschirmhintergrund

 

Das Lautsprechergehäuse trägt entscheidend zum Klang eines Lautsprechers bei. Je größer ein Gehäuse, desto größer wird der Aufwand, das akustische Eigenleben des Korpus zu minimieren und damit tonale Verfärbungen zu verhindern. In den großen AUDIO PHYSIC Modellen bürgen intelligent modellierte Boxen-Körper für höchste Neutralität. Um ein vergleichbar hohes Maß an Signaltreue zu erreichen, sind die Gehäuse der CLASSIC-Modelle als eine Sandwich-Konstruktion aus mehreren Materialien gefertigt. Das innere Grundgerüst besteht aus zwölf Millimeter starkem MDF (Mitteldichte Faser); ein bewährtes Material, fest und gleichzeitig mit guten Dämpfungseigenschaften. Je nach gewählter Ausführung bildet ebenfalls mit Echtholz furniertes MDF die Außenwände der CLASSIC 20. Die Besonderheit: Zwischen beiden Lagen befindet sich eine zwei Millimeter kräftige Mittellage aus geschlossenzelligen High-Tech -Acrylat-Klebstoffen. Dieser Aufbau, der einer Doppelverglasung ähnlich ist, verhilft den Wänden der CLASSIC 20 zu einer ungewöhnlich geringen Schalldurchlässigkeit – unterbindet also die direkte Weitergabe des in das Gehäuseinnere abgestrahlten Schalls durch die Wände des Lautsprechers nach außen. Diesem „Schalldurchtritt“ genannten Phänomen kommt bisher wenig Aufmerksamkeit zu, dabei kann der Effekt das Originalsignal erheblich beeinflussen. Die durch das Sandwich bedingten Fugen sind konstruktives Element der Lautsprecher. Der weichere Kern wirkt auf die ursächlich stärker zu Resonanzen neigenden umgebenden Materialien als Puffer, der etwaige Partialschwingungen umgehend in Wärme wandelt. Diese von AUDIO PHYSIC entwickelte Konstruktionsform verbindet die optimalen Eigenschaften aller verwendeten Werkstoffe.

Alternativ bieten wir die CLASSIC 20 als High-Gloss-Versionen in Schwarz und Weiß an. Die High-Gloss-Versionen besitzen statt MDF Außenwände aus Glas. Die hochdämpfende Verklebung unterbindet jede Form eines akustischen Eigenlebens der Glasflächen – der im Zusammenhang mit Glas gefürchtete „Klingeleffekt“ wird im Ansatz unterbunden. Die Vorteile des Werkstoffes Glas dagegen, wie dessen enorme Steifigkeit, kommen voll zur Geltung. Durch die neue Gehäuse-Technologie reichen die CLASSIC-Modelle in ihrer Klangperformance schon sehr nahe an die Tugenden der HIGH-END-Linie und definieren in ihrer Preisklasse schlicht einen neuen Standard.

Die neue AUDIO PHYSIC Gehäuse-Bauform ist wegweisend. Daraus resultieren ideale Arbeitsbedingungen für die ebenfalls neu entwickelten Chassis der CLASSIC 20. Der besondere Clou der überarbeiteten CLASSIC 20: der Tieftöner sitzt nicht mehr seitlich im Lautsprecher, sondern – wie bei der großen Schwester CLASSIC 30 – in einem eigenen Abteil im Inneren des Gehäuses. Das bringt optische und technische Vorteile: Zum einen bilden die Seiten der CLASSIC 20 jetzt eine optisch homogene Einheit, deren Linienführung nicht unterbrochen wird. Zum anderen reduziert die intelligente Bass-Einbaulösung im eigenen Separée nochmals den Einfluss von Schwingungen auf den umgebenden Korpus. Das ermöglicht gemeinsam mit dem in das Gehäusekonzept integrierten Bassreflexsystem eine beeindruckend präzise und druckvolle Tieftonwiedergabe. Ein Blick auf die transparenten Darstellungen der CLASSIC 20 und des Bassmoduls zeigen den komplexen Aufbau mit der Anordnung des Tieftöners in der Nähe des Sockels und den aufwändigen Verstrebungen im Inneren, die das Innenvolumen jedoch kaum schmälern. Das Ergebnis sind nicht nur abgrundtiefe, akkurate Bässe, sondern auch eine bemerkenswerte Feinzeichnung und Klarheit in Mitten und Höhen.

Für eben diese bürgen auch die für die CLASSIC-Serie neu entwickelten Mittel- und Hochtöner; wahre Hochleistungstreiber. Ihre Architektur wurde auf maximale Signaltreue getrimmt. Der neue Mitteltöner besitzt schmale Korbstege, einen feststehenden Phase-Plug, einen überdimensionierter Antrieb und eine faserverstärkte Papiermembran – im perfekten Zusammenspiel ergibt sich eine klassenuntypische Neutralität und Souveränität in den so wichtigen Mitten. Der moderne Hochtöner reproduziert mit seiner Gewebekalotte Frequenzen bis weit über 20 Kilohertz linear. Ihn umgibt ein sternförmiges Dämpfungselement, das ein gleichmäßiges Abstrahlverhalten unterstützt. Details, die den Unterschied ausmachen und die besondere Klasse eines AUDIO PHYSIC-Lautsprechers unterstreichen.

Logische Konsequenz des auf Resonanzarmut und damit auf Neutralität getrimmten Lautsprechers ist, dass wir – wie in der HIGH-END- und REFERENCE-Linie – nun auch in unserer „kleinsten“ Linie konsequent die teuren, technologisch führenden WBT nextgen™-Terminal serienmäßig einsetzen. Logisch und konsequent daher, weil diese Polklemmen durch ihre clevere Leiterführung Massespeicher-Effekte unterbinden und Mikrovibrationen spürbar minimieren.

Die CLASSIC 20 erreichen eine in dieser Klasse bisher nicht gekannte Wiedergabetreue, die Sie überraschen wird. Typischer Gehäuse-Sound, der nur vordergründig anheimelnd und angenehm warmtönig wirken mag, ist diesen Modellen fremd. Die CLASSIC 20 reproduzieren die Signale, die Elektronik und Software vorgeben – damit sind sie den Modellen der AUDIO PHYSIC HIGH-END-Linie näher als je zuvor.

 

Classic 20 Chassis

Zum unverbindlichen Probehören beim kompetenten AUDIO PHYSIC-Partner klicken Sie einfach hier.

 

Ausstattungsmerkmale

 

Testberichte

Prime AV – Best Recommended

Classic 20 :: Prime AV :: 06/2014
Testbericht Taiwan PDF 1,1 MB

 

Classic :: Super AV :: 06/2014
Testbericht Chinesisch PDF 3,2 MB

 

Testbericht Russisch PDF 4.6 MB
Classic 20 :: HI-FI.ru :: 09/2013

 

Classic 30 :: HiFi Muzyka :: 11/2013

Classic 20 :: HiFi Muzyka :: 01/2013
Testbericht Polnisch PDF 1.5 MB

 

Überaschungseffekt

Mit den neuen Standboxen Classic 10 und Classic 20 gelingt Audio Physic eine faustdicke Überraschung. So sind beide Modelle etwa mit einer Oberfläche aus purem Glas erhältlich. Doch das wirklich Erstaunliche ist ihr Klang – und der Preis.

Testbericht Deutsch und Englisch PDF 3,5 MB

 

Sauerländer Spezialitäten

Muss ein guter Lautsprecher eigentlich immer hässlich wie die Nacht, zumindest aber nach innenarchitektonischen Maßstäben schwer in ein Wohnambiente integrierbar sein?

Testbericht Deutsch und Englisch PDF 5,1 MB

 

info@audiophysic.de

Almerfeldweg 38

59929 Brilon

+49 2961-96170

  Sitemap

Impressum