Audio Physic :: no loss of fine detail
Cardeas

 

What are the essential elements that make something revolutionary? Truly revolutionary are things that have staying power and unfold with long-lasting impact – as opposed to those that create a short-lived, spectacular flash in the pan. That's how we define a genuine revolution. It is the consequence of countless smaller evolutionary steps. AUDIO PHYSIC's top model CARDEAS has managed to set a new standard in its class worldwide. To take something that is already excellent and still improve upon it, that is our motivation and the inveterate quest of our development team, thus we began making numerous tiny adjustments and refinements. Except for its outward appearance, there was "not one stone left upon another". The newly-developed CARDEAS plus+ bears the "plus+" for good reason. The result: a revolution.

The CARDEAS plus+ is the foundation of all AUDIO PHYSIC loudspeakers in the REFERENCE line. In fact, we mean that literally. Just take the body with its rejuvenating side panels leading to the baffle, that avoid parallel planes; there is the curvature in the back; the slightly rear-tilted angle of the cabinet – painstaking design details that lead to vast stability and eliminate even the slightest possibility of any materials taking on a life of their own and impairing the sound.

The CARDEAS plus+ is now taking a decisive step even further. The cabinet not only continues to boast all its solid stiffening properties exhibited up to now, it also features an entirely new design on the inside. As we already saw in the very successful Plus+ versions of VIRGO 25 and AVANTERA, there are additional ceramic foam cabinet struts. This very stiff material has a porosity of more than 85%, which means the inner volume required for the lowest bass tones is hardly reduced. Due to their low mass, the ceramic foam elements retain hardly any energy and also dissipate it very quickly – before the cabinet body can begin building up any undesirable vibrations. The porous structure of the material means an enormous increase in the surface area. Even without the absorbing materials otherwise used, this reliably prevents cavity resonance.

The intelligent design factor of the CARDEAS plus+, combined with its cutting-edge mix of materials, guarantees the utmost in precision and freedom of distortion – from the softest pianissimo up to thundering volumes. This purity and signal fidelity have positive impact on the overall listening spectrum. There is no better working environment for the forward-looking HHC (hyper holographic cone) chassis, a proprietary development, with its unique architecture. As in all the models in the REFERENCE series, the tweeter is not directly connected to the baffle. Like the midrange drivers, it is uncoupled from the cabinet using an ingenious weave construction in SSC ("string suspension concept") engineered materials. This prevents even the most delicate vibrations in the baffle from spreading to the membranes, and makes the rendering of even the finest musical intricacies seem second-nature. CARDEAS plus+ handles vibrations that spread over the connection cables directly at their potential source. The crossovers between mid-range drivers and tweeters are also uncoupled from the cabinet using SSC elements. In addition, the HHC high tweeter features state-of-the-art vibration-damping contacts. This manifests itself in even higher resolution and more authentic spatial definition.

In order to guarantee absolute signal fidelity in the vital mid-range, the interior walls of the sealed mid-range chamber – eliminating interactions with the other chassis via enclosed air volumes – features grid-shaped elements. Sound emitted by the membrane into the chamber interior is partially absorbed by it, and partially reflected diffusely, drastically reducing the energy impacting on the body and pushing back on the membrane. The result: mid-range performance of unparalleled clarity, absent of all lethargy, compression and embellishment.

The layout of the crossovers was further streamlined, the painstakingly-selected components satisfy the highest standards. Entirely new interior wiring provides for unprecedented homogeneity across the entire frequency spectrum of the CARDEAS plus+.

The lowest frequencies are handled by two especially long-throw, 10’’ woofers in a push-push arrangement, refined in many details, and geared towards bass-reflex coordination. They are located opposite one another in the flanks of the loudspeakers. This enables the CARDEAS plus+ to attain ultra-precise definition, even when the dB meter is barely showing a blip, independent of volume. And even for larger rooms over 40m², it offers the required boost of energy.

The significance of the terminals on loudspeakers is widely underestimated. They are the first point of entry, and if the signal is impaired at this point, the finest intricate details will be missing later. With its trusted Vibration Control Terminal, AUDIO PHYSIC impressively masters this phenomenon. In addition, the CARDEAS plus+ uses as standard WBT nextgen connectors in fine silver design. These fine silver connectors offer unique conductivity for vibration uncoupling, and they are immune to issues involving eddies or mass storage effects.

It is a variety of seemingly minute details, the sum of which afford the listener revolutionary sound performance. Discover the true noble elegance of a large concert grand piano, the unlimited dynamics of bombastic brass interludes or the finely-layered inner nuances of a harp solo. For the CARDEAS plus+, there is no limit, and the horizon opens up right into the heart of the music. Unlike any other loudspeaker, CARDEAS plus+ underscores the AUDIO PHYSIC motto: "No loss of fine detail".

 

Veneers

Oak

Black
ash

Cherry

Ebony

Walnut

White
high
gloss

Black
high
gloss

Audio Physic veneers at a glance

 

Technical data

Height 1190 mm / 46.9"
Width 305 mm / 12"
Depth 595 mm / 23.4"
Required Space Width x Depth 410x595 mm / 16.1x23.4"
Weight 60 kg
Recommended amplifier power   40-350 W
Impedance 4 Ohm
Frequency range 25 Hz - 40 kHz
Sensitivity 89 dB
More technical details

 

Features and Specs

 

Ambient Screen

Enjoy your preferred AUDIO PHYSIC Speaker on your screen.
For picture download select the size tab.

1280 x 1024 SXGA 5:4
1600 x 1200 UXGA 4:3
1920 x 1200 WUXGA 16:10

 

CARDEAS plus+

Veneers

Technical data

Features and Specs

Ambient Screen

Awards and reviews

Our listening tip

Cardeas front

 

Awards and reviews

Cardeas plus+ :: Audio :: 02/2015
Polish review PDF 4.5 MB

 

Cardeas plus+ :: Hörerlebnis :: 2015
English review PDF 434 KB

 

CARDEAS plus+ Speaker System of the Year

CARDEAS plus+
Speaker System of the Year

 

AUDIO PHYSIC Presentation in NGHE NHIN Sept Issue - Vietnam PDF 4.6 MB

 

Our listening tip

Richard Wagner | Mariss Jansons | Sony

Richard Wagner | Mariss Jansons | Sony

The live recording with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Mariss Jansons, can truly be deemed a milestone. Jansons is capable of making Wagner accessible even to those who really aren't much into this legend from Bayreuth. It's larger than life to be sure, the way all Wagner is, and yet it reveals a certain lightness and finesse that are often lost amid the grandeur of his music. This album thus demands an enormous range of the reproduction chain, of the loudspeakers in particular, but most of all an uncompromising neutrality and resolution. The CARDEAS plus+ guarantees reproduction without limits, thus opening up an unimagined sound cosmos bursting with nuances and colours.

 

Kraftwerk | The Mix | Warner

Kraftwerk | The Mix | Warner

If a loudspeaker is capable of mastering music without limits, then this disc is an absolute listening delight. The newly-arranged compilation of the greatest hits from Kraftwerk – the legendary German band that pioneered a fusion of art, beats and electronics - is not a remix, and it really offers some stunning surprises, especially the vinyl version. These pioneers of electronic music sound as fresh here as they did on Day One. The sound is first-rate, and it is a testimony to the contemporary significance of this band, which not "only" made music but above all literally developed previously unknown, futuristic soundscapes. The powerful synthetic sounds can quickly max out the limits of many loudspeakers. But with CARDEAS plus+, there are no limits, and the Kraftwerk powerhouse is back on the grid. Finally.

 

info@audiophysic.de

Almerfeldweg 38

59929 Brilon

+49 2961-96170

  Sitemap

Imprint

Audio Physic :: no loss of fine detail
Cardeas

 

Was liegt dem Wesen des Revolutionären zu Grunde? Wahrhaft revolutionär sind Dinge, die Bestand haben, die eine nachhaltige Wirkung entfachen – nicht solche, die sich kurzlebig spektakulär aufbäumen. So definieren wir eine wirkliche Revolution. Sie ist eine Konsequenz unzählig vieler, kleiner evolutionärer Schritte. Das AUDIO PHYSIC Spitzenmodell CARDEAS hat in ihrer Klasse weltweit einen Maßstab setzen können. Hervorragendes noch zu verbessern, das ist unser Ansporn, das stete Ziel unseres Entwicklungsteams und so haben wir an sehr vielen kleinen Stellschrauben justiert und verfeinert. Bis auf die äußere Erscheinung ist kein „Stein auf dem anderen“ geblieben. Den Begriff „plus+“ trägt die neu entwickelte CARDEAS plus+ zu Recht. Das Ergebnis: eine Revolution.

Die CARDEAS plus+ ist das Fundament aller AUDIO PHYSIC Lautsprecher der REFERENCE-Linie. Das darf man getrost wörtlich nehmen. Da ist der Korpus mit den sich nach vorne zur Schallwand verjüngenden Seitenelementen, der parallele Ebenen vermeidet; da ist der rund ausgeführte Rücken; die leicht nach hinten geneigte Ausführung des Gehäuses – aufwändige konstruktive Maßnahmen, die zu einer enormen Stabilität führen und einem klangschädlichen Eigenleben keine Ansatzpunkte bieten.

Die CARDEAS plus+ gehen jetzt noch einen entscheidenden Schritt weiter. Ihr Gehäuse wird nicht nur wie bisher schon solide versteift, sondern besitzt ein komplett neu gestaltetes Innen-Design. Wie schon bei den sehr erfolgreichen Plus+ - Versionen von VIRGO 25 und AVANTERA kommen bei ihr zusätzliche Gehäuseverstrebungen aus Keramikschaum zum Einsatz. Dieses sehr steife Material weist einen Porenanteil von mehr als 85% auf, wodurch das für tiefste Bässe notwendige Innenvolumen kaum verringert wird. Die Keramikschaum-Elemente speichern aufgrund ihrer geringen Masse wenig Energie und leiten diese zudem sehr schnell ab – bevor sich der Gehäusekorpus zu unerwünschten Schwingungen aufschaukelt. Die poröse Struktur des Materials bewirkt eine enorme Vergrößerung der Oberfläche. Auch ohne die sonst übliche Verwendung von absorbierenden Materialien werden so Hohlraumresonanzen zuverlässig vermieden.

Die intelligente Bauform der CARDEAS plus+ garantiert im Verbund mit dem richtungsweisenden Materialmix ein Höchstmaß an Präzision und Verfärbungsfreiheit – vom zartesten Pianissimo bis zu Brachialpegeln. Diese Reinheit und Signaltreue wirken sich auf das gesamte Wiedergabespektrum positiv aus. So finden die wegweisenden HHC-Chassis (Hyper Holographic Cone) aus eigener Entwicklung mit ihrer einzigartigen Architektur beste Arbeitsbedingungen vor. Wie in allen Modellen der REFERENCE-Serie, ist der Hochtöner nicht direkt mit der Schallwand verbunden. Er ist genau wie der Mitteltöner über eine spezielle Gewebekonstruktion in SSC – Technik vom Gehäuse entkoppelt. Auch kleinste Schwingungen der Schallwand können sich so nicht auf die Membranen ausbreiten, sodass sich auch feinste musikalische Details ganz selbstverständlich erschließen. Vibrationen, die sich über die Verbindungskabel ausbreiten, begegnen die CARDEAS plus+ bereits am potenziellen Entstehungsort. Die Frequenzweichen von Mittel –und Hochtöner sind ebenfalls mit SSC – Elementen vom Gehäuse entkoppelt. Zusätzlich besitzt der HHC-Hochtöner neuartige, vibrationsdämpfende Kontakte. Das äußert sich in einer nochmals gesteigerten Auflösung und authentischerer Raumabbildung.

Um im wichtigen Mittenbereich absolute Signaltreue zu garantieren, sind die Innenwände der geschlossenen Mitteltonkammer – sie schließt Wechselwirkungen mit den anderen Chassis über das eingeschlossene Luftvolumen aus – mit rasterförmigen Elementen versehen. Von der Membran ins Kammerinnere abgestrahlter Schall wird daran zum Teil absorbiert, zum Teil diffus reflektiert, was die auf den Korpus und rückwärtig auf die Membran einwirkende Energie drastisch verringert. Das Ergebnis: eine beispiellos naturgetreue Mittenperformance bar jeder Trägheit, Kompression und Schönfärberei.

Das Layout der Frequenzweichen wurde weiter optimiert, die penibel selektierten Bauteile genügen höchsten Ansprüchen. Eine komplett neue Innenverkabelung bürgt für eine bisher unerreichte Homogenität über das gesamte Frequenzspektrum der CARDEAS plus+.

Tiefste Frequenzen verantworten zwei besonders langhubige, in vielen Details verfeinerte 25-Zentimeter-Bässe in Push-Push-Anordnung, die auf eine Bassreflex-Abstimmung arbeiten. Sie sitzen sich in den Flanken der Lautsprecher gegenüber. Die CARDEAS plus+ erzielen so eine ultrapräzise Wiedergabe bis in schwärzeste Register, unabhängig von der Lautstärke. Und auch für Hörräume über 40m² bietet sie das erforderliche Plus an Energie.

Die Bedeutung der Anschlusskontakte von Lautsprechern wird vielfach unterschätzt. Sie sind das Eingangstor, wird an dieser Stelle das Signal beeinträchtigt, fehlen in der Folge feinste Informationen. Mit dem bewährten Vibration Control Terminal begegnet AUDIO PHYSIC diesem Phänomen wirkungsvoll. In den CARDEAS plus+ kommen zusätzlich serienmäßig WBT nextgen Polklemmen in Feinsilber-Ausführung zum Einsatz. Diese besitzen eine einzigartige Leiterführung zur Schwingungsentkopplung und kennen weder Probleme mit Wirbelströmen noch Massespeicher-Effekte.

Es ist die Vielzahl der scheinbar kleinen Details, die in ihrer Summe eine revolutionäre Klangperformance bescheren. Entdecken Sie die wahre Erhabenheit eines Großen Konzertflügels, die unlimitierte Dynamik exzessiver Bläsereinsätze oder die filigrane, innere Struktur eines Harfenspiels. Die CARDEAS plus+ setzen kein Limit und öffnen den Horizont bis ins Herz der Musik. Wie kein anderer Lautsprecher untermauern die CARDEAS plus+ die AUDIO PHYSIC Maxime: „No loss of fine detail“.

 

Oberflächen

Eiche

Esche
schwarz

Kirsche

Eben-
holz

Walnuss

Weiss
hoch-
glanz

Schwarz
hoch-
glanz

Audio Physic Furniere im Überblick

 

Technische Daten

Höhe 1190 mm / 46.9"
Breite 305 mm / 12"
Tiefe 595 mm / 23.4"
Grundfläche Breite x Tiefe 410x595 mm / 16.1x23.4"
Gewicht 60 kg
Empfohlene Verstärkerleistung 40-350 W
Impedanz 4 Ohm
Frequenzgang 25 Hz - 40 kHz
Wirkungsgrad 89 dB
Weitere technische Daten

 

Ausstattungsmerkmale

 

Bildschirmhintergrund

Laden Sie das Aufmacherbild Ihres AUDIO PHYSIC Lieblingslautsprechers auf Ihren Rechner. Klicken Sie dazu einfach die gewünschte Größe an.

1280 x 1024 SXGA 5:4
1600 x 1200 UXGA 4:3
1920 x 1200 WUXGA 16:10

 

CARDEAS plus+

Oberflächen

Technische Daten

Ausstattungsmerkmale

Testberichte und Auszeichnungen

Anspieltipp

Bildschirmhintergrund

 

Cardeas front

 

Zum unverbindlichen Probehören beim kompetenten AUDIO PHYSIC-Partner klicken Sie einfach hier.

 

Testberichte und Auszeichnungen

Cardeas plus+ :: Audio :: 02/2015
Testbericht Polen PDF 4.5 MB

 

Cardeas plus+ :: Hörerlebnis :: 2015
Testbericht Deutsch PDF 434 KB

 

CARDEAS plus+ Speaker System of the Year

CARDEAS plus+
Speaker System of the Year

 

AUDIO PHYSIC Presentation in NGHE NHIN Sept Issue - Vietnam PDF 4.6 MB

 

Unser Anspieltipp

Richard Wagner | Mariss Jansons | Sony

Richard Wagner | Mariss Jansons | Sony

Die Live-Einspielung mit dem Symphonie Orchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks unter der Ägide von Mariss Jansons darf getrost als Meilenstein betrachtet werden. Jansons gelingt es, Wagner auch für diejenigen zugänglich zu machen, die sonst weniger auf den Meister aus Bayreuth fixiert sind. Brachial, ja so ist Wagner, und doch entbehrt diese Einspielung nicht einer gewissen Leichtigkeit, einer Finesse, die sonst oft im gewaltigen Element untergeht. So fordert dieses Album dynamisch eine enorme Spannweite der Wiedergabekette, insbesondere der Lautsprecher, aber eben auch unabdingliche Neutralität und Auflösung. Die CARDEAS plus+ gewährleisten eine Reproduktion ohne dynamisches Limit, so öffnet sich ein ungeahnter Klangkosmos voller Nuancen und Farben.

 

Kraftwerk | The Mix | Warner

Kraftwerk | The Mix | Warner

Wenn ein Lautsprecher Musik ohne Limitierungen meistert, dann beschert diese Scheibe absolute Hörfreuden. Die neu zusammengestellte Compilation der größten Werke von Kraftwerk ist kein Remix und hat es wahrhaft in sich – insbesondere in der Vinyl-Ausführung. Die Vorreiter der elektronischen Musik wirken hier auch heute noch frisch wie am ersten Tag. Der Sound ist erstklassig und unterstreicht die zeitgeschichtliche Bedeutung dieser Band, die eben nicht „nur“ Musik macht, sondern viel mehr zuvor ungekannte und zukunftsweisende Klanggebilde sprichwörtlich entwickelte. So manch Lautsprecher wird durch die kraftvollen Synthieklänge schnell an seine Grenzen geführt. Via CARDEAS plus+ gibt es keine Grenzen und das Kraftwerk ist wieder am Netz. Endlich.

 

info@audiophysic.de

Almerfeldweg 38

59929 Brilon

+49 2961-96170

  Sitemap

Impressum