Audio Physic :: no loss of fine detail
   

Setting up Loudspeakers
in a Room

 

Rules about positioning

 

From what has been previously explained,
we can draw the following conclusions
on how to set up loudspeakers in a room:

 

 

 

 

Rule No. 1

The speakers are to be placed well into the room in order to maximise the delay of reflections and to remove their effects from the sphere of spatial perception.

It is well worth trying this out!
Just click on the arrows.

The perfect and most effective distance lies between 85 cm (33 in) and 1.5 m (5 ft) - depending on the listener's position. However, you can also obtain very good results at a distance of 70 cm (28 in). An easy way to home in on the right distance is to sit down in the listening seat and ask a friend to hold up a mirror and move it along the wall. As soon as you see the speaker in the mirror, you know where the acoustic reflection comes from. Now measure the distance between the speaker and mirror, and mirror and listening seat, then subtract the distance between the speaker and listening seat. You will see from the result whether you are above or below the critical distance of 1.7 m (5.6 ft).

If you are well below this value, you can try to dampen or diffuse critical room resonances in order to reduce their effects. In the case of dampening critical resonances, part of the energy is destroyed by friction. For instance, heavy fabrics can be hung a few centimetres from the wall which dampen the reflections. If you want to go a step further, you can even use special dampening material. In this case we recommend that you use the heavier material. We can assure you that an area of 1 m (3.3 ft) height and 0.5 m (1.6 ft) width put on the reflection point may produce astounding results. In the case of diffusing critical resonances, the sound should be reflected in different ways. A shelf with many books of different sizes can do the trick. However, you can also buy so-called diffusers, specially designed for the diffusion of sound waves.

Let us say another word about the general concept of spatial perception. If you enter a completely dark room, you will immediately know the approximate size of the room even though you cannot see to orient yourself. You therefore rely on spatial information and relate to small sounds. The knowledge we have obtained about the size of a room generally helps to prevent that we perceive sound from music reproduction as something coming "from behind" the back wall.

 

Rule No. 2

If you attach importance on an excellent low-frequency performance, we recommend that you leave enough space between the speakers and the back wall.

Leave enough space between the speakers and the wall!

Before we finish the topic of determining the precise spacing from the walls, we would like to add that the space between the wall and speakers also has a deep impact on the bass performance. If you place your speakers or the listening seat closer to the wall, you have to expect a stronger bass response. However, the distances between the speakers, and the back and side walls should never be the same. At least a ratio of 1 : 1.3 is recommended.

 

Rule No. 3

Some positional experimentation should be performed around this point (wall distance of speakers and/or listening seat) in order to achieve personal control of sound balance.

Move the speakers and the position of the seat!

Unfortunately, there is more to consider than just a few first reflections in a room. A sound event is reflected from every surface in the room and every new resonance is reflected, as is every following resonance etc. After a fraction of a second several thousand millions of reflections can exist in an average-sized living room. Naturally, every new generation of reflections loses some of its energy compared to the previous generation, and yet their number is ever increasing. In the following illustration this so-called reverberation is shown.

Diagramm Nachhall

 

Reverberation

Here you can see the sound pressure, sound event and reflections in a listening room of 30 m_ (320 sq. ft.).

The volume created by the direct sound of a loudspeaker is reduced by half with each doubling of the distance, whereas the reverberation sound is the same everywhere in the room. From a certain distance, this can result in the reflected sound being dominant over the direct sound from the loudspeakers. Acousticians refer to the distance to the loudspeakers, or better to say the radius of the speakers, as the reverberation radius. The reverberation radius can amount to approximately two meters (6.6 ft) in an average-sized listening room. We presume that you prefer to enjoy the direct sound of your favourite piece of music rather than listen to the reflected sound, therefore we would like to draw your attention to rule no. 4.

 

Rule No. 4

The closer your listening position is to the loudspeakers, the lower the level of room-dependent sound production you will be exposed to. However, you should keep a minimum distance of 1.75 m (5.7 ft) in order to let the sound fields from the drives add up correctly.

Move your listening seat closer to the speakers!

In the case of large and powerful loudspeakers which are not necessarily optimised for a short-range placement, you can choose an even greater minimum distance. If your listening room allows listening distances of more than 2 meters (6.6 ft), we suggest a very careful approach to furnishing this room. You should bear in mind that each and every object partially dampens the reflected sound waves and that the amount of dampening depends on the frequency. Unfortunately, virtually everything can dampen high frequencies, e.g. curtains, carpets, seats and sofas. Low frequencies, on the other hand, are only dampened by cupboards or large windows. This can easily lead to an non-proportionate dampening of high frequencies which usually results in a lifeless and boomy sound.

 

Rule No. 5

The removing of unnecessary high-frequency killers, e.g. by drawing the curtains, can result in a more dynamic sound. We recommend that you use dampening material sparingly and only in the case of real disturbances.

Keep the curtains open!

Remember to do so if you want to avoid the above-mentioned first reflections and possible flutter echoes. Flutter echoes normally occur in sparsely furnished rooms when the sound reflects between the upper walls before reaching the listener's ear at nearly full force. If the sound has travelled approximately 30 m (100 ft), it is perceived by our brain as a new sound event.

 

Rule No. 6

Clap your hands in order to see if flutter echoes exist in your room. If this is the case, place a few small cushions in the corners of the room and in the corners between the wall and the ceiling.

Click on the hands and the cushion! Listen to the difference!

Now we are coming to the most complicated topic with regards to the correct positioning of the loudspeakers: standing waves. Standing waves are sound waves whose fixed distribution in space is a multiple of half the wall distance. Standing waves extend the bass response and make it less precise as they unnaturally prolong the dying-out transient. The best solution on how to avoid this effect is to build a room with an optimised ratio between width, height and depth.

This ratio, however, always depends on and changes according to the room size, and most of us are not in a position to just choose the room proportions anyway. What can be done? We will leave aside the possibility to furnish the listening room with absorbers specially designed for the frequencies of single standing waves. (In any case, the author has never come across a listening room furnished with such absorbers.) Standing waves are especially strong if either the loudspeaker or the listener is located next to one of the walls between which a standing wave can occur. You may take this as a further reason for placing the speakers well into the room.

 

Rule No. 7

If this is simply impossible, we recommend that you furnish the corners of your room with various pieces of furniture, tube traps or monoliths made by Room Tune. The furnishing should be roughly one meter wide and at least one meter high.

It is well worth trying out!

 

Rule No. 8

We also recommend that you dampen standing waves by placing a few objects throughout the room.

Take a look at the different arrangements!

In the case of stereophonic reproduction of sound and symmetrical arrangement of the speakers, you will succeed in dampening standing waves between the left and the right wall. This is due to the fact that low frequencies generally blend together in recorded music. When you look at the front and back wall and the floor and ceiling, you will see the speakers are placed in one line.

If you encounter any problems with this set-up, you may consider adding a subwoofer, which should not be placed in line with the speakers. In a worst case situation (walls made of rigips or plasterboard, ceiling and floor made of concrete), this could mean placing the subwoofer on a higher level, halfway between the floor and the ceiling, in order to obtain optimum results. An arrangement to the left or right of a corner and not collateral to a wall can also dampen standing waves. However, in the case of such arrangements it has often turned out to be quite difficult to obtain a symmetrical sound stage. If you do succeed in obtaining such a sound stage, you are well rewarded with a fully-balanced bass response.

Finally, we deal with the question on how to determine the right distance between the speakers. In the early days of stereophonics, the equipment was set up according to the principle of an isosceles triangle, i.e. equal spacing between the speakers and the listener. Today, we can definitely regard this approach as outdated. In those days, especially in America, the former stereophonic records were done with two microphones spaced several meters apart. If the speakers were spaced too far apart, an acoustic hole could be perceived in the middle. With today's records we rarely encounter this problem. Either the distance between the microphones lies between 0 cm (0.00 in) and one meter (3.3 ft), or every single instrument has a microphone of its own. Where these instruments are heard, is decided in the studio. Research carried out at Audio Physic has proved that an apex angle of 75 ° between listener and speakers has no negative effects, providing that the set-up of the music system is correct.

 

Rule No. 9

This means that for your set-up that the distance between the speakers can be 1.2 times as much as the distance between the speakers and the listener.

All of this, results in a large sound stage, and every single instrument is better separated from the others in terms of room space. Just for your information: you pay 20 % more for a television set with a larger screen (larger by 17 %), however you get 20% more sound stage virtually free as a reward for an effective loudspeaker set-up.

Acoustical perception    Position example

 

Acoustical perception
Position example

info@audiophysic.de

Almerfeldweg 38

59929 Brilon

+49 2961-96170

  Sitemap

Imprint

Audio Physic :: no loss of fine detail
   

Die richtige Aufstellung
der Lautsprecher

 

Regeln zur Lautsprecheraufstellung

 

Aus dem bisher gesagten
läßt sich nun die erste Regel
für die Lautsprecheraufstellung
ableiten:

 

 

 

Regel 1

Der Abstand der Lautsprecher zu allen Wänden sollte so groß wie möglich gewählt werden, damit die Reflexionen so spät wie möglich kommen und ihren Einfluß auf die Ortung verlieren.

Probieren Sie es hier aus!
Klicken Sie auf die Pfeile.

Als Idealwert, ab dem sich keine weitere Verbesserung mehr ergibt, können je nach Hörabstand 85 cm bis 1,5 m angesehen werden; sehr gute Ergebnisse sind aber schon mit Werten von 70 cm zu erreichen. Wer es genau wissen will, kann einen Freund bitten, mit einem Spiegel an der Wand entlang zu gehen. Dort, wo man vom Hörplatz aus den Lautsprecher im Spiegel sieht, entspringt auch die Schallreflexion. Mißt man nun die Abstände Lautsprecher - Spiegel und Spiegel - Hörplatz und zieht den Abstand Lautsprecher - Hörplatz ab, so weiß man, ob die kritische 1,7 m Zone über - oder unterschritten wird.

Liegt das Maß wesentlich unter diesem Wert, so gibt es noch die Möglichkeit, den Einfluß der Reflexion durch Dämpfung oder durch Streuung zu vermindern. Bei der Dämpfung wird ein Teil der Energie durch Reibung vernichtet, hierzu sind zum Beispiel schwere Stoffe, die mit einigen Zentimetern Wandabstand aufgehängt sind, geeignet. Wer noch einen Schritt weitergehen will, kann auch spezielle Dämmaterialien benutzen, auch hier sind die schwereren vorzuziehen. Eine Fläche von 1 m Höhe und 0,5 m Breite um den Mittelpunkt der Reflexion bringt schon erstaunliche Fortschritte. Bei der Streuung soll der Schall möglichst ungleichmäßig reflektiert werden; ein mit unterschiedlich großen Büchern gefülltes Regal kann hier gute Dienste leisten. Es gibt aber auch sogenannte Diffusoren zu kaufen, die speziell zum Zweck der Streuung von Schallwellen konstruiert sind.

Ein Wort noch zu einer generellen Eigenschaft der räumlichen Wahrnehmung. Kommt ein Mensch in einen vollkommen dunklen Raum, so hat er, obwohl er sich optisch nicht orientieren kann, sofort eine Vorstellung von der Größe dieses Raumes. Anhand von kleinen Geräuschen wird diese ausge-"echo"-lotet. Dieses Wissen über die Raumgröße verhindert in der Regel, daß bei der Musikwiedergabe etwas Gehörtes als "von hinter" der Rückwand kommend wahrgenommen wird.

 

Regel 2

Legt man also auf eine sehr gute Tiefenstaffelung Wert, so sollte der Abstand des Lautsprechers zur Rückwand entsprechend groß gewählt werden.

Wählen Sie einen großen Wandabstand!

Um das Thema Wandabstand zumindest vorübergehend abzuschließen, sei hier noch erwähnt, daß dieser auch einen großen Einfluß auf den Baßbereich hat. Je näher die Lautsprecher oder der Hörplatz an eine Wand rücken, um so kräftiger wird der Baß. Man sollte allerdings die Abstände zur Wand hinter und neben dem Lautsprecher nie gleich wählen, ein Verhältnis von mindestens 1:1,3 ist empfehlenswert.

 

Regel 3

Durch etwas Experimentieren mit dem Wandabstand von Lautsprecher und/oder Hörplatz kann man seine persönliche Klangbalance einstellen.

Verschieben Sie die Lautsprecher und die Sitzposition!

Leider bleibt es in einem Raum nicht bei diesen ersten Reflexionen. Ein Schallereignis wird von den raumbegrenzenden Flächen reflektiert, jede entstehende Reflexion wird wiederum reflektiert, jede resultierende Re...., bis man nach nur einer zehntel Sekunde mehrere Milliarden Reflexionen in einem normal großen Wohnraum hat. Jede neue Generation von Reflexionen hat zwar gegenüber der vorhergehenden etwas Energie verloren, aber es werden halt auch immer mehr. Das Ganze sieht dann etwa wie in der Abbildung aus und wird Nachhall genannt.

Diagramm Nachhall

 

Nachhall

Hier sehen Sie den Schalldruck und Zeitpunkt eines Schallereignisses und seiner Reflexionen in einem 30 qm Hörraum.

Der direkte Schall des Lautsprechers halbiert seine Lautstärke mit jeder Abstandsverdopplung, während die Lautstärke des Nachhalls überall im Raum gleich ist. Das hat zur Folge, daß ab einem bestimmten Abstand zum Lautsprecher mehr vom Nachhall gehört wird als vom eigentlichen Lautsprecher. Der Abstand zum Lautsprecher oder, besser gesagt, der Radius um den Lautsprecher, ab dem dies der Fall ist, wird von Akustikern der Hallradius genannt. Dieser liegt in einem durchschnittlichen Hörraum bei etwa zwei Metern. Da Sie wahrscheinlich mehr Interesse haben, den Klang Ihrer bevorzugten Aufnahme zu hören als den Klang Ihres Hörraums, folgt nun:

 

Regel 4

Je näher Sie an Ihren Lautsprechern sitzen, um so weniger wird die Wiedergabe durch den Hörraum beeinflußt. Ein Mindestabstand von 1,75 Metern sollte jedoch in jedem Falle eingehalten werden, damit sich die Schallfelder der einzelnen Chassis richtig addieren.

Bringen Sie die Sitzposition nach vorn!

Bei großen Lautsprechern, die nicht speziell auch für Nahfeld-Aufstellung optimiert sind, kann dieser Mindestabstand auch größer sein. Sollten sich bei Ihnen nur wesentlich größere Hörabstände als zwei Meter realisieren lassen, so ist besondere Sorgfalt bei der Inneneinrichtung des Hörraums zu empfehlen. Jeder Gegenstand dämpft einen Teil der Schallwellen, die an ihm reflektiert werden, wobei das Maß der Dämpfung frequenzabhängig ist. Leider werden höhere Frequenzen von fast allem bedämpft, besonders gut von Gardinen, Teppichen, Sesseln und Sofas, tiefe Frequenzen aber nur von großen Schränken oder großen Fenstern. Dies führt schnell zu einer überproportionalen Dämpfung bei hohen Frequenzen und damit zu einem leblosen und baßbetonten Klangbild.

 

Regel 5

Das Entfernen von unnötigen Höhen-Killern, z.B. durch Zusammenschieben von Vorhängen, bringt eine neue Lebendigkeit. Dämpfendes Raumakustik-Zubehör sollte man nur dort sparsam anwenden, wo wirkliche Störquellen vorliegen.

Öffnen Sie die Vorhänge!

D.h. bei den oben beschriebenen frühen Reflexionen und bei eventuell vorhandenen Flatter-Echos. Flatter-Echos treten hauptsächlich in spärlich eingerichteten Wohnungen auf, wenn der reflektierte Schall mehrmals zwischen den oberen Wänden hin- und hergeworfen wird, bevor er nahezu ungeschwächt das Ohr erreicht. Hat der Schall bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt ca. 30 m zurückgelegt, so wird er vom Gehirn als neues Schallereignis aufgefaßt.

 

Regel 6

Durch In-die-Hände-klatschen lassen sich Flatter-Echos leicht feststellen, und ebenso leicht durch ein paar kleine Kissen in den Raumecken und eventuell an den Kanten zwischen Wänden und Decke eliminieren.

Klicken Sie auf die Hände und das Kissen! Hören Sie den Unterschied!

Das am schwierigsten zu behandelnde Thema bei der Lautsprecher Aufstellung sind die stehenden Wellen. Als stehende Wellen bezeichnet man Schallwellen deren Wellenlänge ein geradezahliges Vielfaches des halben Wandabstandes sind. Stehende Wellen verstärken den Baß und machen ihn unpräziser, indem sie das Ausschwingen von Tönen unnatürlich verlängern. Der beste Weg, um ihre Wirkung zu vermeiden, ist es, einen Raum mit optimiertem Verhältnis von Breite zu Höhe zu Tiefe zu konstruieren.

Dieses Verhältnis ist aber für jede Raumgröße anders und die meisten Normalsterblichen haben sowieso nicht die Möglichkeit, ihre Raumproportionen frei zu wählen. Was kann man also machen? Von der Möglichkeit, sich spezielle Absorber, die auf die Frequenzen einzelner stehender Wellen abgestimmt sind, für den Hörraum zu installieren, soll einmal abgesehen werden. (Der Autor zumindest hat noch kein mit solchen Absorbern ausgestattetes Musikzimmer gesehen.) Besonders stark ausgeprägt sind stehende Wellen, wenn entweder der Lautsprecher oder der Hörer sehr nah an einer der Wände plaziert ist, zwischen denen eine stehende Welle auftritt. Dies ist ein weiteres Argument für einen großen Wandabstand der Lautsprecher.

 

Regel 7

Ist dieser Weg nicht realisierbar, so hilft es sehr, die Ecken des Raumes mit Möbeln, Tube Traps oder Monolithen von RoomTune auf etwa einen Meter Breite und mindestens einen Meter Höhe zuzustellen.

Probieren Sie es aus!

 

Regel 8

Auch eine ungleichmäßige Anregung von vielen verschiedenen Punkten im Raum ist zur Unterdrückung stehender Wellen sinnvoll.

Sehen Sie unterschiedliche Anordnungen!

So sind bei der Stereowiedergabe und raumsymmetrischer Lautsprecher-Aufstellung die stehenden Wellen zwischen linker und rechter Wand gut unterdrückt, da tiefe Frequenzen bei fast allen Aufnahmen zusammengemischt sind. Für vordere und hintere Wand und für Boden und Decke stehen die Lautsprecher jedoch auf einer Linie.

Treten hier Probleme auf, so kann ein zusätzlicher Subwoofer Verbesserung bringen, der möglichst nicht mit den Lautsprechern auf einer Linie stehen sollte. Im Extremfall (Wände des Hörraums aus Rigips, Decke und Boden aus Beton) kann das sogar bedeuten, daß die beste Position für den Subwoofer auf einem Sockel zwischen Boden und Decke ist. Auch eine Aufstellung nicht parallel zu einer Wand, sondern beispielsweise rechts und links von einer Ecke, kann stehende Wellen unterdrücken. Bei solchen Aufstellungen ist es aber häufig schwierig, eine symmetrische Klangbühne zu erzielen. Wenn dieses jedoch gelingt, wird man durch gute Tiefenstaffelung belohnt.

Zuletzt wäre noch die Frage nach dem Abstand zwischen den Lautsprechern zu klären. In den Kindheitstagen der Stereophonie wurde das gleichseitige Dreieck präferiert, daß heißt, gleicher Abstand zwischen Lautsprechern und Hörer. Diese Empfehlung darf heute getrost als historisch bezeichnet werden. Bei den damals, besonders im amerikanischen Raum üblichen Stereoaufnahmen, mit zwei, mehrere Meter voneinander entfernten Mikrofonen entstand bei größerem Abstand zwischen den Lautsprechern ein Loch in der Mitte. Bei modernen Aufnahmen ist dieses Problem weitgehend ausgeräumt. Der Mikrofonabstand beträgt zwischen 0 cm und maximal einem Meter, bzw. jedes Instrument erhält ein eigenes Mikrofon. Der Ort, wo es später zu hören ist, wird am Mischpult bestimmt. Bei Audio Physic durchgeführte Forschungen haben gezeigt, daß ein Öffnungswinkel von 75° zwischen Hörer und Lautsprechern bei genauer Positionierung noch keine Nachteile hat.

 

Regel 9

In der Praxis heißt das: Der Abstand zwischen den Lautsprechern darf bis zum 1,2-fachen des Abstandes zwischen Lautsprecher und Hörer betragen.

Die sich dann ergebende große Bühne hat den Vorteil, daß einzelne Instrumente viel besser räumlich voneinander getrennt werden. Bei einem Fernseher müssen Sie übrigens für 17% mehr Bildbreite ca. 20% mehr Geld anlegen, bei der Lautsprecheraufstellung bekommen Sie 20% mehr Klangbühnen praktisch zum Nulltarif.

 

Phänomene der menschlichen Schallwahrnehmung
Beispielaufstellung der Lautsprecher Punkt für Punkt

Sitemap  

  info@audiophysic.de

  Almerfeldweg 38

  59929 Brilon

  Tel +49 2961-96170

  Impressum