Audio Physic :: no loss of fine detail
   

Setting up Loudspeakers in a Room

The sunny side – This is how to position your loudspeakers correctly. Practical tips and background information to room acustics.

Phenomenon of human acoustical perception

Where should the loudspeakers and the listener be placed in order to obtain excellent sound quality? Before answering this question, we would like to explain a few basic facts about human acoustic perception.

P.W. Klipsch, designer of the famous Klipsch horn, once said that God gave us two ears but only one mouth, so that we may listen twice as much as we talk. There is, however, a second reason to this. Based on different signals which are transmitted to our brain via our ears, we can determine the spatial information relating to a sound source.

 

Acoustical Perception 1

If the sound source is in front of us, the acoustic sound will reach both ears at the same time and with the same volume.

 

Acoustical Perception 2

If the sound source is 90 degrees to our right, the acoustic sound will reach the right ear approx. 0.7 milliseconds before it will reach the left ear. In this respect, our head can be regarded as an acoustic shadow for the left ear which causes reduced acoustical perception.

 

Acoustical Perception 3

If two loudspeakers send the same signal from different locations, our brain will calculate the mean value between the two locations. When listening to an old mono record of Maria Callas, we hear the soprano and the orchestra exactly in the middle between the two loudspeakers.

 

Acoustical Perception 4

Reflections from a wall cannot be easily distinguished from a direct sound source by our brain. When calculating the mean value, our brain will move the sound source away from the loudspeaker and towards the reflection.

However, we are glad to say that in the course of evolution our brain has developed a technique which allows us to shed some light on the dark chaos of reflections.

 

Acoustical Perception 5

The spatial information relating to a sound source is mainly detected by the brain in the first five milliseconds, everything which follows will at first be ignored. Sound travels at 1.7 metres (5.6 ft) in five milliseconds. If the sound of a reflection has to travel 1.7 m (5.6 ft) more than the direct sound of the source, then it will have no influence on our spatial perception.

This intelligent approach to acoustic perception is the reason why, in former times, we were able to run in the opposite direction from a sabretooth tiger, in the middle of a thick forest with many reflections rebounding from trees.

Rules about positioning    Position example

 

Rules about positioning
Position example

Sitemap  

  info@audiophysic.de

  Almerfeldweg 38

  59929 Brilon

  Tel +49 2961-96170

  Imprint

Audio Physic :: no loss of fine detail
   

Phänomene der menschlichen Schallwahrnehmung

Ein Platz an der Sonne –
So plazieren Sie Ihre Lautsprecher richtig

Praxistips und Hintergrundwissen
zum Thema Raumakustik

Wo ist er, der optimale Platz für Lautsprecher und Hörer? Bevor wir uns mit dieser Frage beschäftigen, sollten erst einmal einige der grundlegenden Phänomene der menschlichen Schallwahrnehmung geklärt werden.

P.W. Klipsch, der Entwickler des legendären Klipsch-Horns, sagte einmal: „Gott hat dem Menschen zwei Ohren, aber nur einen Mund gegeben, damit er doppelt soviel hört, wie er redet“. Es gibt allerdings noch einen zweiten Grund. Aus den Unterschieden der Signale, die von beiden Ohren an unser Gehirn weitergeleitet werden, können wir den Ort der Schallquelle bestimmen.

 

Schallwahrnehmung 1

Steht die Schallquelle vor uns, so erreicht der Schall beide Ohren gleichzeitig und mit gleicher Lautstärke.

 

Schallwahrnehmung 2

Steht die Schallquelle 90 Grad rechts neben uns, so erreicht der Schall das rechte Ohr etwa 0,7 tausendstel Sekunden früher als das linke. Der Kopf stellt für das linke Ohr einen akustischen Schatten dar, so daß der Schall für dieses leiser ist.

 

Schallwahrnehmung 3

Strahlen zwei Lautsprecher das gleiche Signal von unterschiedlichen Orten ab, so bildet das Gehirn einen Mittelwert zwischen diesen beiden Orten. Bei der alten Mono-Aufnahme von Maria Callas hören wir die Sopranistin samt Orchester genau aus der Mitte zwischen den Lautsprechern.

 

Schallwahrnehmung 4

Die Reflexion von einer Wand ist für das Gehirn aber nicht ohne weiteres von einer echten Schallquelle zu unterscheiden. Der Ort der Schallquelle wird bei der Mittelwertbildung vom Lautsprecher in Richtung der Reflexion gezogen.

Erfreulicherweise hat das Gehirn im Laufe unserer Evolution eine Taktik entwickelt, mit der wir Licht ins dunkle Chaos der Reflexionen bringen können.

 

Schallwahrnehmung 5

Tritt ein neues Schallereignis auf, so werden nur die ersten fünf tausendstel Sekunden zur Ortung herangezogen, alles, was danach kommt, wird erst einmal unterdrückt. In fünf tausenstel Sekunden legt der Schall 1,7 m zurück. Muß der Schall der Reflexion also einen 1,7 m längeren Weg zurücklegen als der der Schallquelle, so hat er keinen Einfluß auf unsere Ortung mehr.

Diese intelligente Wertung des Gehörten hat es uns früher ermöglicht, auch im dichten Wald mit zahlreichen, an Bäumen entspringenden Reflexionen immer in der richtigen Richtung vor dem Säbelzahntiger davonzulaufen.

 

Regeln zur Aufstellung
von Lautsprechern
Beispielaufstellung
der Lautsprecher
Punkt für Punkt

info@audiophysic.de

Almerfeldweg 38

59929 Brilon

+49 2961-96170

  Sitemap

Impressum